Strong Field Lines Up for Iowa Sprint Handicap

Strong Field Lines Up for Iowa Sprint Handicap

The $125,000 Iowa Sprint Handicap on June 26th at Prairie Meadows has drawn a small but very talented field of six, led by the multiple graded stakes winner Delaunay.

Trained by Tom Amoss for owner Maggi Moss, Delaunay won six straight races during late 2012 and early 2013, culminating with a decisive triumph in the grade II Churchill Downs Stakes. He has remained a formidable presence in sprint company ever since and finished second in the Iowa Sprint Handicap in both 2013 and 2014. It is hoped that the third time will be the charm for the son of Smoke Glacken, who enters this year’s Iowa Sprint off of a narrow runner-up effort to Bobcat Jim in the Ed Skinner Memorial Stakes at Prairie Meadows on May 23rd.

The full entries for the Iowa Sprint Handicap are as follows:

Iowa Sprint Handicap
#/Horse/Jockey/Trainer/Weight Assignment/Morning Line Odds
Six furlongs at Prairie Meadows
1 Bobcat Jim, Shane Laviolette, Kenny Smith, 120, 9-5
2 Bruvver Max, Terry Thompson, Timothy Martin, 115, 9-1
3 Patty’s Key, Glenn Corbett, Thad Keller, 113, 15-1
4 Den’s Legacy, Ricardo Santana Jr., Ron Moquett, 114, 7-2
5 Z Rockstar, Luis Quinonez, Donnie K. Von Hemel, 115, 6-1
6 Delaunay, Ramon Vazquez, Tom Amoss, 120, 8-5

Follow J. Keeler Johnson ("Keelerman"):

J. Keeler Johnson is a writer, blogger, videographer, and all-around horse racing enthusiast who was drawn to the sport by Curlin's quest to become North America's richest racehorse. A great fan of racing history, he considers Dr. Fager to be the greatest racehorse ever produced in America, but counts Zenyatta as his all-time favorite. He lives in Wisconsin and also writes for the blog Unlocking Winners.

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of