Ocean Knight Returns in Saratoga Allowance Race

Ocean Knight Returns in Saratoga Allowance Race

Ocean Knight, who was among the early favorites for the 2015 Kentucky Derby (gr. I) after winning the Sam F. Davis Stakes (gr. III) on January 31st, is scheduled to return to the races on August 8th in an allowance optional claiming race at Saratoga.

Trained by Kiaran McLaughlin for Stonestreet Stables, Ocean Knight has not run since finishing a disappointing seventh in the Tampa Bay Derby (gr. II) on March 7th. However, he has turned in four solid workouts at Saratoga in preparation for this race, most recently breezing a half-mile in :48.25 on August 1st.

Ocean Knight is the 2-1 morning line favorite in the seven-furlong race, with other major contenders including impressive maiden winner Juba (5-2) and 2013 Champagne Stakes (gr. I) winner Havana.

The complete entries are as follows:

PP, Horse, Jockey, Trainer, Morning Line Odds
1 Joking, Angel Cruz, C. Baker, 15-1
2 Juba, Luis Saez, Jimmy Jerkens, 5-2
3 Sassicaia, Cornelio Velasquez, Rudy Rodriguez, 20-1
4 Ocean Knight, Irad Ortiz Jr., Kiaran McLaughlin, 2-1
5 Takajo, Eric Cancel, John Terranova II, 15-1
6 Crafty Dreamer, Junior Alvarado, J. H. Iselin, 10-1
7 Erik the Red, Jose Ortiz, Linda Rice, 12-1
8 Souper Knight, Javier Castellano, Michael Trombetta, 10-1
9 Havana, John Velazquez, Todd Pletcher, 7-2

Follow J. Keeler Johnson ("Keelerman"):

J. Keeler Johnson is a writer, blogger, videographer, and all-around horse racing enthusiast who was drawn to the sport by Curlin's quest to become North America's richest racehorse. A great fan of racing history, he considers Dr. Fager to be the greatest racehorse ever produced in America, but counts Zenyatta as his all-time favorite. He lives in Wisconsin and also writes for the Bloodhorse.com blog Unlocking Winners.

Leave a Reply

4 Comments on "Ocean Knight Returns in Saratoga Allowance Race"

Notify of
Sort by:   newest | oldest | most voted

Was that fast or did I miss this


Man I’m excited every week thnaks 2 a triple crown winner