Eight Horses Entered in 2015 Preakness

Eight Horses Entered in 2015 Preakness

A modest-sized field of eight has been entered in the May 16th Preakness Stakes (gr. I) at Pimlico, including Kentucky Derby (gr. I) 1-2-3 finishers American Pharoah, Firing Line, and Dortmund.

A surprise addition to the Preakness field was Mr. Z, who finished thirteenth in the Derby after a very troubled trip. Trained by D. Wayne Lukas, Mr. Z is in the process of being sold by Zayat Stables to Calumet Farm, and is scheduled to carry the Calumet silks in the Preakness. Two years ago, Calumet and Lukas teamed up to win the Preakness Stakes with Oxbow, who had finished sixth in the Derby.

Also entered in the Preakness are Danzig Moon, fifth in the Derby; Divining Rod, winner of the Lexington Stakes (gr. III); Bodhisattva, winner of the Federico Tesio Stakes; and Tale of Verve, a recent maiden winner at Keeneland. Post positions for the Preakness will be drawn at 5:00 pm EST this afternoon. Follow The Turf Board on Twitter (@TheTurfBoard) to receive real-time updates as the post positions are drawn!

2015 Preakness Stakes Entries
American Pharoah, Victor Espinoza, Bob Baffert
Bodhisattva, Trevor McCarthy, Jose Corrales
Danzig Moon, Julien Leparoux, Mark Casse
Divining Rod, Javier Castellano, Arnaud Delacour
Dortmund, Martin Garcia, Bob Baffert
Firing Line, Gary Stevens, Simon Callaghan
Mr. Z, Corey Nakatani, D. Wayne Lukas
Tale of Verve, Brian Hernandez, Jr., Dallas Stewart

Follow J. Keeler Johnson ("Keelerman"):

J. Keeler Johnson is a writer, blogger, videographer, and all-around horse racing enthusiast who was drawn to the sport by Curlin's quest to become North America's richest racehorse. A great fan of racing history, he considers Dr. Fager to be the greatest racehorse ever produced in America, but counts Zenyatta as his all-time favorite. He lives in Wisconsin and also writes for the Bloodhorse.com blog Unlocking Winners.

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of