2016 Kentucky Derby Post Positions

2016 Kentucky Derby Post Positions

Breeders’ Cup Photo

The unbeaten Eclipse champion Nyquist has drawn post position 13 in the 142nd running of the Kentucky Derby (gr. I) and has been made the morning line favorite at odds of 3-1.

Racing for the team of owner Reddam Racing, trainer Doug O’Neill, and jockey Mario Gutierrez–the same team that won the 2012 Kentucky Derby with I’ll Have Another–Nyquist has won all seven of his races so far, culminating with a decisive win in the Florida Derby (gr. I) on April 2nd at Gulfstream Park. With four grade I wins under his belt, Nyquist is among the most decorated horses to run in the Kentucky Derby in recent years, and a victory in the Derby would add him to his already stellar record.

Second choice on the morning line at 8-1 is Exaggerator, impressive winner of the Santa Anita Derby (gr. I). He has drawn post position 11 and is expected to race at the rear of the field early on (click here for details.)

Arkansas Derby (gr. I) winner Creator, Louisiana Derby (gr. II) winner Gun Runner, and Fountain of Youth Stakes (gr. II) winner Mohaymen have all been listed at 10-1 and have drawn posts 3, 5, and 14, respectively.

The complete list of post positions and morning line odds is as follows:

PP, Horse, Jockey, Trainer, Morning Line Odds
1 Trojan Nation, Aaron Gryder, Paddy Gallagher, 50-1
2 Suddenbreakingnews, Luis Quinonez, Donnie K. Von Hemel, 20-1
3 Creator, Ricardo Santana Jr., Steve Asmussen, 10-1
4 Mo Tom, Corey Lanerie, Tom Amoss, 20-1
5 Gun Runner, Florent Geroux, Steve Asmussen, 10-1
6 My Man Sam, Irad Ortiz Jr., Chad Brown, 20-1
7 Oscar Nominated, Julien Leparoux, Mike Maker, 50-1
8 Lani, Yutaka Take, Mikio Matsunaga, 30-1
9 Destin, Javier Castellano, Todd Pletcher, 15-1
10 Whitmore, Victor Espinoza, Ron Moquett, 20-1
11 Exaggerator, Kent Desormeaux, Keith Desormeaux, 8-1
12 Tom’s Ready, Brian Hernandez Jr., Dallas Stewart, 30-1
13 Nyquist, Mario Gutierrez, Doug O’Neill, 3-1
14 Mohaymen, Junior Alvarado, Kiaran McLaughlin, 10-1
15 Outwork, John Velazquez, Todd Pletcher, 15-1
16 Shagaf, Joel Rosario, Chad Brown, 20-1
17 Mor Spirit, Gary Stevens, Bob Baffert, 12-1
18 Majesto, Emisael Jaramillo, Gustav Delgado, 30-1
19 Brody’s Cause, Luis Saez, Dale Romans, 12-1
20 Danzing Candy, Mike Smith, Clifford Sise Jr., 15-1
AE 21: Laoban, Cornelio Velasquez, Eric Guillot, 50-1
AE 22: Cherry Wine, Robby Albarado, Dale Romans, 30-1

If you enjoyed this article, be sure to sign up for email newsletters and special offers from The Turf Board!

Follow J. Keeler Johnson ("Keelerman"):

J. Keeler Johnson is a writer, blogger, videographer, and all-around horse racing enthusiast who was drawn to the sport by Curlin's quest to become North America's richest racehorse. A great fan of racing history, he considers Dr. Fager to be the greatest racehorse ever produced in America, but counts Zenyatta as his all-time favorite. He lives in Wisconsin and also writes for the Bloodhorse.com blog Unlocking Winners.

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of