2016 Breeders’ Cup Sprint Post Positions

2016 Breeders’ Cup Sprint Post Positions

Coglianese Photos/Adam Mooshian

Although the field for the 2016 Breeders’ Cup Sprint (gr. I) is smaller than in previous years, the overall depth and quality of the race is fantastic, with grade I winners Lord NelsonA. P. Indian, Masochistic, and Drefong leading the charge.

All four are unbeaten this year, with Lord Nelson being 4-for-4 with three grade I wins, A. P. Indian being 6-for-6 with four graded stakes wins, Masochistic being 2-for-2 with a win in the Pat O’Brien Stakes (gr. II), and Drefong being 3-for-3 with an impressive win in the King’s Bishop Stakes (gr. I). They will be joined by the speedy gelding Delta Bluesman, winner of the Smile Sprint Stakes (gr. II); Limousine Liberal, beaten a nose by A. P. Indian in the Phoenix Stakes (gr. II); and the graded stakes-winning three-year-olds Mind Your Biscuits and Noholdingbackbear.

The complete field for the Breeders’ Cup Sprint is as follows:

1 Mind Your Biscuits, Joel Rosario
2 Drefong, Martin Garcia
3 Delta Bluesman, Emisael Jaramillo
4 Joking, Manny Franco
5 A. P. Indian, Joe Bravo
6 Lord Nelson, Flavien Prat
7 Masochistic, Mike Smith
8 Noholdingback Bear, Eurico Da Silva
9 Limousine Liberal, Jose Ortiz

Looking forward to the Breeders’ Cup? Sign up for email newsletters and special offers from The Turf Board and receive Keeler Johnson’s Top 10 Tips for Handicapping the 2015 Breeders’ Cup!

Follow J. Keeler Johnson ("Keelerman"):

J. Keeler Johnson is a writer, blogger, videographer, and all-around horse racing enthusiast who was drawn to the sport by Curlin's quest to become North America's richest racehorse. A great fan of racing history, he considers Dr. Fager to be the greatest racehorse ever produced in America, but counts Zenyatta as his all-time favorite. He lives in Wisconsin and also writes for the Bloodhorse.com blog Unlocking Winners.

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of